#13: “…I am their next victim.”


This dream consists of many people that I know but don’t really talk to.It started out that my best friend and I went to this birthday/engagement party at a chuck-e-cheese type place for some girl who went to our high school (that I never really knew in real life). We are sitting around a table and this girl I know at my university comes in but won’t sit with us and acts really weird. My best friend (who doesn’t know her at all) offers to give her a ride home and the girl is just acting really pissed off but eventually my friend walks her to her car. After a few minutes I decide to walk home to my parents house, and all of a sudden it was daylight outside. On my way I pass my old high school and on the sidewalk there are tons of women with picket signs about wanting better treatment for administration workers. I stand on the sidewalk and start clapping, but no one else does the same- everyone is ignoring these women, which is really annoying. I hang out with them for awhile before I go to the back doors of the school- because apparently I had to drop something off. On my way I pass a young man who has a ton of stuff, garbage, boxes, etc. that he needs to transport somewhere all by himself and he asks me to help. I say sure, and he goes- “cool its like Im the janitor and you can be an administration lady”. I ask him if he is asking me to do administration work because I am a woman, he smiles coyly and says “maybe”. So I say “then NO, I won’t help you” so I drop a broom off inside the building and start walking home. On my way I pass two 15ish year old boys on bikes with intense motorcycle helmets who look a bit thug-ish. They start riding their bikes around me, trying to hit me. They tell me that they go around Milwaukee beating people up about once a week and that I am their next victim. I try to ration with them- asking how they would feel if someone randomly chose to beat them to a pulp. They stopped for a sec, thought about it, and continued to intimidate me. I saw a bunch of kids and their dad across the street and begged to walk with them up the street- the thugs tried to discourage this at first, but then we all started walking down the street. Apparently somewhere during that short block the thugs changed their mind and I went my separate way and walked/swam home (In my dreams I can swim through the air). However, today when I dove into the air I didn’t get enough momentum or something and ended up diving into my neighbor’s lawn and had to embarrassingly start over. I got to my house and there were signs all over it for some prize that we won… and then I woke up.

2 Comments

  1. Every dream that ends in “and then I woke up” now officially reminds me of Tommy Lee Jones’ final line from No Country for Old Men.

  2. […] #13 […]


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About DoPYWNM

    Please submit your dreams on the "Submit Your Dreams" page in the comment section. It won't show up, it will just be sent to us. We won't see your e-mail address, and you don't have to include your name. Or, send them to dreamsofpeople@gmail.com.
  • This blog is an experiment. When I wake up, I immediately write down what I've dreamed, as humans lose memory of most of their dreams within the first minutes of alertness. After doing this for a couple of months, I was left with a very interesting compilation. Rather than publish all of these, I decided it would be more interesting to compile those of many people.
  • Any information that you choose to include is your decision. It is not the responsibility of the blog if your friends figure out whose dream it was. The posts will be anonymous whether you wish your name to be included or not. If you are going to send an e-mail, it would help if you entitle it "Dream". The blog may add links within the text of your e-mail to help people visualize, especially if there is an obscure reference. Scott Donaldson will illustrate select dreams.
  • Tell all your friends! The more people we get in on the experiment, the cooler it will turn out. Once again, submit on the "Submit Your Dreams" page, or the e-mail address to send your dreams to is dreamsofpeople@gmail.com, or you may submit them on the "Submit Your Dreams" page.
  • -T.J.
  • Submit Your Dreams

    Submit them in the comments section of the "Submit Your Dreams" page. Don't worry, we can't see your e-mail address, and you don't have to leave your name. Or, e-mail dreams to dreamsofpeople@gmail.com