#55: Part 2 of 3 “…[They] try to poke her with a white plastic stick”


A young woman knocks on the door of the room and asks if I know where to find “Martha (lastnamethatdoesn’tmakesense)”. I told her that Martha is on the 5th floor (while thinking to myself, “God, she must be a freshman, everyone knows that Martha is on the 5th floor”) and that she should take the elevator. I leave the room, turning around to tell two friends (the friend I kissed is gone) that I’m leaving and that I’ll be back. We walk down the hall (north) to where the elevator should be, but when we get there and turn to the left, there’s just a bigger room, a hallway of sorts with chairs and a big control panel on a pedestal that controls the elevator. It has the numbers 1, 2, 3, 4, and 7, apparently the only buttons for the elevator. I am more disturbed by the fact that there is no button for the 5th floor (I guess I don’t care about the 6th) than the fact that there is no elevator in sight.

 
I turn to the left in the big room, now facing east, and I see that there are chairs set up for a class, and behind the class are doors along the wall that lead to other rooms. I walk through the class (heading west) that is in session and go to the middle of the room and then I turn north and see a large set of stairs that only lead down, and there is no way to get up to the 5th floor (if it exists). These stairs are linoleum and have the bumps like at the edge of the BART platform on the ends of the stairs.

 
For some reason I don’t go down the stairs, I walk further along the room and come across a luncheon for older people (60+). At a table at the far end of the room, I go sit down next to someone with an omnisex name (one of a female friend’s friends from Knox (Editor’s note: I would provide a link, but there are nine Knox’s in the United States, none of which are in California), who I thought was going to be a girl because it seems that she told me about this friend many times…but it turns out he is a guy) and across from a random older man, who is sitting next to Michael Duncan, who is sitting across from a female friend. There are three other people at the end of the table, but they keep to themselves. At our end, we start asking Michael how he’s doing and where he’s going to school. In response to this inquiry, there is a small “Hello, My name is”-type name tag (where Michael’s water glass should be) that says UCSB in messy cursive. For some reason, we all pronounce this acronym as “Ucksub”.

 
An elderly palsied woman passes between our table and the one behind us, and I reach out to help her pass, but she instead bends down to pick up something from the floor. As she does so and I try to help steady her, but my male friend, Michael, and the random guy try to poke at her with a white plastic stick. I brush away their stick and she picks up whatever she needed and moves on.

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

  • About DoPYWNM

    Please submit your dreams on the "Submit Your Dreams" page in the comment section. It won't show up, it will just be sent to us. We won't see your e-mail address, and you don't have to include your name. Or, send them to dreamsofpeople@gmail.com.
  • This blog is an experiment. When I wake up, I immediately write down what I've dreamed, as humans lose memory of most of their dreams within the first minutes of alertness. After doing this for a couple of months, I was left with a very interesting compilation. Rather than publish all of these, I decided it would be more interesting to compile those of many people.
  • Any information that you choose to include is your decision. It is not the responsibility of the blog if your friends figure out whose dream it was. The posts will be anonymous whether you wish your name to be included or not. If you are going to send an e-mail, it would help if you entitle it "Dream". The blog may add links within the text of your e-mail to help people visualize, especially if there is an obscure reference. Scott Donaldson will illustrate select dreams.
  • Tell all your friends! The more people we get in on the experiment, the cooler it will turn out. Once again, submit on the "Submit Your Dreams" page, or the e-mail address to send your dreams to is dreamsofpeople@gmail.com, or you may submit them on the "Submit Your Dreams" page.
  • -T.J.
  • Submit Your Dreams

    Submit them in the comments section of the "Submit Your Dreams" page. Don't worry, we can't see your e-mail address, and you don't have to leave your name. Or, e-mail dreams to dreamsofpeople@gmail.com